Tags

, , ,

The way of the lazy man is like a hedge of thorns, But the way of the upright is a highway (Proverbs 15:19, NKJV). Some years ago, in East Tennessee, I took it upon myself to clear out a sticker (thorn) bush. It was as big as any that I had ever seen, and I saw it as a challenge to rid myself of it. To work I went, and I accomplished my task as I took the bush down to the roots. I did not, however, clear the roots. It would have required more work and I was wiped out! Though I was not (and am not) lazy, I am able to relate to this proverb in the nastiness of those thorns being an irritant of great magnitude. A lazy man sees the thorns and rather than fuss with them he turns around and stays put; he would rather be stung by them than to work and rid himself of them. The upright, however, clears the path of thorns because he has a destination to which he must (desires) to arrive. RT

 

