As I was reading James this morning (Tuesday) I instantly thought of Mother’s Day with these words, “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and with-out hypocrisy” (3:17, NKJV). I genuinely think of mothers with sentiments like these. I know that not all mothers operate as the Holy Spirit speaks in this passage, but I know, also, that many mothers very much do!

When I was younger, still living at home, there were days when I did not like Mom (or Dad, for that matter); what child has not had similar sentiments? There were many more days, however, that which Mom did for me is simply immeasurable.

As a boy I desired to be more like Dad than I did Mom, but it was mom who shaped me in a particular way. Dad shaped me to be tough, to meet one’s obligations, to not cry, while mom shaped me to be sensitive, less hard/harsh, and have a degree of tenderness. In each one of these areas that I was taught – I excelled and I failed.

The responsibilities that mothers have are great. Some of them come naturally, like love, nurture, correction, and protection. Other responsibilities are learned then taught, like training in domestic matters (dishes, laundry, house-cleaning, lawn, mechanics, etc.), a vocation, and, most importantly, religious training.

Many parents have failed in this last point (religious training) because they themselves have failed to take seriously their own responsibility before God. A mother’s greatest teaching is accomplished when the teaching of the Lord’s way is instilled into the lives of her children. Then, before them is laid open the Lord’s path to heaven. On the other hand, if the children stray, they will know the way back.

