Tags

No man can come to Jesus unless the Father draws him (John 6:65). This interesting remark by the Lord tells us much about why people are not saved. People are not saved because they are not listening to the Father via the word He proclaimed (John 6:44-45). That which is more important to a large percentage of humanity are the following: Recreation: life is stressful and when there is opportunity to get away from familiar surroundings one feels to need to exercise it. Thus, remarks like the following are spoken: “On the weekends my family gets out on the lake because we don’t go boating very much and, besides, we can’t find a better day than today.” (This is said about camping also.) “Are you telling me that I can’t go on vacation with my family because I need to go to church?!” As you listen to the one who speaks this way or in a similar way, they will tell you much more than they want known. The guilty ones who offers excuses like these attributes words and motivations to the “accuser” because of their own guilt. What they really desire is to get away from the stress of life in their normal surroundings, and this includes attending services where the Lord’s church meets. Work: rather than taking necessary time away from their work environment there is an effort to justify missing Sunday services in order to get caught up on whatever is felt as lagging behind. This perceived notion of getting caught up is like having a carrot tied to a string and placed on a stick and put in front of an animal who chases it continually. Family: some justify their refusal to come to the services of the Lord church because problems occur in the family. Jesus said, “So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven. “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me” Matthew 10:32-38, ESV).

Unfortunately, these same people who make attempts at justification are the same people who do have an affinity for the Lord. On judgment day, however, that affinity (sympathy) will have the Lord showing none to them. RT

